Ruby Walsh

Ruby Walsh won the Scottish Grand National in 2000, aboard Martin Pipe-trained Take Control. He was also an extremely close contender for both the 2005 and 2006 Scottish Grand Nationals, both of which he lost by only a head!

At the 2007 Coral Scottish Grand National Festival, Ruby Walsh rode the winners in several of the Festival races, including the:

  • Dawn Construction Handicap Hurdle
  • Serendipity Interactive Handicap Hurdle
  • Purvis Marquees Juvenile Novices Hurdle

Ruby Walsh is the only jockey in modern times to have won all four Grand Nationals. In the same year as winning the Scottish Grand National, he won the Grand National at Aintree. Ruby Walsh won the Irish Grand National twice, in 2000 and 2005, and the Welsh Grand National in 2007.

Included in WalshÂ’s phenomenal string of wins are an extraordinary total of 14 winners at the Cheltenham Festival. From most to least recent, these include:

  • 2009: World Hurdle Big Bucks, Queen Mother Champion Chase Master Minded, Cheltenham Gold Cup Kauto Star
  • 2008: Triumph Hurdle Celestial Halo, Queen Mother Champion Chase Master Minded, Ballymore Properties Novices’ Hurdle Fiveorthree
  • 2007: Cheltenham Gold Cup Kauto Star; Royal & SunAlliance Chase Denman; Ryanair Chase Taranis
  • 2006: William Hill Trophy Handicap Chase Dun Doire; Supreme Novices’ Hurdle Noland; County Hurdle Desert Quest
  • 2005: Champion Bumper Missed That; Daily Telegraph Chase Thisthatandtother
  • 2004: Queen Mother Champion Chase Azertyuiop; Grand Annual Handicap Chase St Pirran; County Hurdle Sporazene
  • 2003: Arkle Challenge Trophy Azertyuiop
  • 2002: Mildmay of Flete Handicap Chase Blowing Wind
  • 1998: Champion Bumper Alexander Banquet

Some of the other major wins for Walsh include the 2006 Tingle Creek Chase and the King George VI Chase on Kauto Star, the Hennessy Cognac Gold Cup in 2003 on Strong Flow, and the Whitbread Gold Cup on Ad Hoc, in both 2001 and 2003. In 2007, Walsh was awarded the first ever British Horseracing Board Jockeys’ Order of Merit award.